Book Award Winner 2019

Coif Book Award for 2019 winner:
From left to right: Coif book award winner Richard Rothstein, Order of the Coif Vice President Pat Cain and AALS President Vicki Jackson. Photo taken at AALS January 2020.

2019 Coif Book Award winner announced:

The National Order of the Coif is delighted to announce the Coif Book Award winner for books published in 2017 and 2018.  This award recognizes work that is of the “highest order of legal scholarship.”

The winner is Richard Rothstein for his book, The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America, published by Liveright Publishing, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, in 2017. Judith Resnik, Professor at Yale Law School, and Chair of the Coif Book Awards Committee describes the committee’s selection as a remarkable book that “provides an in-depth analysis of the decades of federal policies that put into place the framework across the country for housing segregation in the twentieth century.”

Richard Rothstein is a research associate of the Economic Policy Institute and a Fellow at the Thurgood Marshall Institute of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund. He lives in California, where he is a Fellow of the Haas Institute at the University of California–Berkeley.

The award will be officially presented at the annual meeting of the Association of American Law Schools in Washington, D.C. on January 4. The author will be at the meeting on January 3 and will be available to discuss his book with those in attendance. He will join his publisher at the W.W. Norton booth in the Exhibit Hall from 5:00 to 6:30 PM on Friday evening.

Coif Book Award Committee:

Judith Resnik, Chair, Yale Law School

Bertrall Ross, University of California at Berkeley

Stephen Vladeck, University of Texas at Austin

Olufunmilayo Arewa,Temple University

Kate Andrias, University of Michigan